Getting started

So it’s time for me to challenge myself again.3 or 4 years ago I walked 50 miles in 3 days. It was a great challenge and now I find myself ready for the next one. Living at the foothills of the Gila National Forest makes this a bit easier – there are endless trail options here!

My guidelines are as such-

1. It has to be 100 different hikes. I can overlap portions of trails, but the bulk must be new.

2. A hike must be 2+ hours in total.

3. No part of the 2 hours can be on black top (blagh!). I can walk on black top to get to the trail head, but that portion doesn’t count in the time!

4. Dirt roads can be included but should be avoided.

I’m going to try to complete 3 hikes in a week. This should help me during hot days, snow and cold, too busy, etc.

I look forward to inviting friends to join me – I’m counting on them to show me some trails I’m not familiar with! So far, I know the following people will join me occasionally – Frank, Nancy, Steve, Julian, Lynn, Marianne, Linda R, Lilia, Lou, Shelley.

I am keeping a spreadsheet describing the hike so I can track what I’ve done. I’m also going to copy a map and hang it in my office and highlight the completed areas. Organized exercise!

I’ve already completed 3 hikes with Nancy. I will post information on them shortly.

Let’s go!

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on October 8, 2011, in Gila National Forest, Hiking, New Mexico. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  1. Pingback: Great Hiking Ideas for Southwestern New Mexico: 100 Hikes a Year | Silver City and Grant County NM Tourism

Leave a Reply

