Monday, October 03, 2011 – McComas Peak

Second hike starts at about 10:45 and ends at 1:45. Nancy and I (along with Cisco this time) make the climb up McComas Peak to the west of town. I had done this one other time with Maryann Buckley. The view was worth the uphill trek.

The day was nice and in the 70’s. We brought some hummus and crackers (and dog biscuits of course!) and enjoyed a rest at the top. I’m really not sure how many miles it was – I think it was around 4 miles round trip. It took us about 25 minutes to drive there.

I’m glad I brought my walking stick – it was rocky most of the way.

The clasp on my favorite fanny pack broke as I was putting it on so I had to tie it together and carry it around my shoulder instead.  I hope Frank can fix it. But again, I think I’m going to need more water because on longer hikes, we’re going to get low fast. The idea of having water back at the car is a good one too.

We had great conversation on the way. Everything from – our envy of our young nieces – to financial and everything in between. It made me wonder about hiking in solitude. Maybe I should try it some time. Never have before. Hmmmmmmm.

Note to self: bring more water, if you use a walking stick-bring gloves, and also bring bandana.

2 down / 98 to go!

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on October 8, 2011, in Gila National Forest, Hiking, New Mexico. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

