Wednesday, October 5, 2011 – Fort Bayard Game Preserve

Due to the annual birthday hangover, we decided to try an easy hike. Nancy, Cody and I went to Fort Bayard Game Preserve. I planned to show Nancy the Dragonfly Petroglyphs. We stopped at the Forest Service Office and got a bunch of maps. However, when we got to the Game Preserve, it turns out that there are a bunch of trails not on the maps so it’s difficult to figure out which one you’re on corresponds to the map. I started to wing it from memory. I was in the petroglyph area but we lost the trail a few times due to tall grass. No problem, we ended up with a good hike. Took us about 3 hours. We passed by the old car graveyard – a little landmark at the east end of the preserve.

Getting lost reminded me that using the GPS system would be good for comparing map notes. Frank and I did that on a hike in Canyonlands and it helped us stay on trail. Note to self: Have Frank show me how to use the GPS and remember to bring it on hikes.

I’ve noticed my feet hurting after each hike. I bought new boots and after #1 put extra cushion in them. My feet were my weak point during the long walk challenge too. Damn and oh well. I wonder which toenail I’ll lose first. I also have a sore left hip. Just like the walking, I’ll have to stretch the left thigh muscle to keep the hips from going out of alignment.

3 down / 97 to go

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on October 8, 2011, in Gila National Forest, Hiking, New Mexico. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

