Thursday, October 20, 2011 – Radio Tower Road

Santa Rita Mine, Kneeling Nun and Cook's Peak

 

I am constantly stunned at how many beautiful areas there are quite close to my house. I wanted a quick hike for today and since Frank was going to be up at the fire station, I thought that I would hike near there. I remembered Radio Tower Road and thought I try it. The road has been worked on and was easy to drive up – to a certain point. I parked at the halfway mark and Cody and walked along an old side road that was quite rutted out in many areas. The large quantity of bear scat reminded this lone hiker that we’re in the wilderness. I’m actually not afraid of bears – I’m pretty sure they would hear and smell me and disappear long before I (or more likely Cody dog) would sense them. I’m more concerned about mountain lions. I also realize that I don’t know what mountain lion scat looks like. Note to self: ask someone about signs of mountain lions.

The hiking was great – the views were lovely and I enjoyed walking through the trees. I took lots of photos since there were so many beautiful vistas to check out.

This was my first lone hike in a while and it confirmed that I just don’t like to hike alone. So many people do enjoy the solitude; I found it a bit unnerving. What a wuss! But also, I find it kind of boring (don’t tell Cody I said that).

2 hour hike / approximately 4 miles.

There are several side roads so I can hike in this area again.

 

An old side road - I loved the trees!

 

6 down / 94 to go

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on October 20, 2011, in Gila National Forest, Hiking, New Mexico. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

