Sunday, October 23, 2011 – The CD Trail Hike – Burro Mountains

Today, Marianne and I did a 3 hour hike on the CD trail. She mentioned that this is a beautiful hike before and now I know the woman doesn’t lie! We parked on a side road and started off going up – from what I understand, we were moving up the back side of Jack’s Peak. The walk meandered around and up through rock outcroppings and pine trees. Since this is the official CD Trail, it’s very well marked and maintained. In fact, this week-end was the week-end that the trail as being officially maintained – there was an article in the  newspaper about it. We did not run into any maintaineers. (I’m just making up words as I go along!)

Along the CD Trail in the Burro Mountains near Silver City, NM

 

I was testing out my GPS skills which I now know to be pitiful. Time for another lesson. The only information I was able to get out of the dang thing is our direction off the compass, and how many miles we had traveled (2.0) I was stunned to learn that we only went that far – it felt much farther than that!

Cisco was outstanding; he obeyed me when we saw cattle. He came to me when we encountered another hiker.

The hiker was alone and with a large pack. He explained he was just finishing up hiking the trail from starting in Canada to finishing at  the Mexico border. He averaged about 30 miles a day – which is outrageously impressive! Remember, it took us 3 hours to do 2 miles!!! He must be practically running with a pack on! Damn kids ;  )

When we started this hike I once again said out loud that I can’t believe there are so many beautiful hikes right in this area that I haven’t seen in the 11 years we’ve been here! At one point we were able to look out over the mines and tailings. Then at another spot we looked north and saw The Mogollons in the distance. It was Spectacular! Marianne said that when people come to visit, she takes them on this hike – I can see why!

A view of the Mogollon Mountains to our Northwest.

Right now I’m feeling tired and the gluts hurt. So far, his has been the most strenuous of the hikes.

 

7 down 93 to go!

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on October 23, 2011, in Gila National Forest, Hiking, New Mexico. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

