Tuesday, November 1, 2011 – Radio Tower Road Upper Part and Side Trail

 

The Kneeling Nun and the Tyrone Mine from Radio Tower Road

Cisco and I climbed the steepest part of Radio Tower Road and were rewarded with views of Silver City and beyond. This is the mountain right behind our street that holds the radio and cell towers above Skip’s house. I took lots of photos of my  neighborhood and of course the awesome views. Since this part of the hike wasn’t long enough, I also took a nearby dirt  road/path around the mountain to the west. It was a lovely walk with lots of pines and views to the west. At one point, Cisco had fun chasing a squirrel from tree to tree. The squirrel was able to escape of course but it was hysterical to watch the two of them play cat and mouse (in this case, dog and squirrel). The squirrel would jump from branch to branch, bobbing and  weaving, dipping and squealing.

Cisco would bark and jump, chase and dart. 50 yards of good trail

Looking down upon our streeet – my house is close to the middle of the photograph

entertainment right there.

I may have to change the name of this challenge to 100 photos of the kneeling nun in one year. That girl shows up everywhere!

I estimate that I walked for about 4 miles and 2 hours. I’m 10% finished! And oh, I’ve lost 5 pounds so far!

 

10 down / 90 to go

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on November 2, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

