Sunday, December 4, 2011 –FR 506 – past Little Walnut Road

Forest Road 506

 

What 100 hike challenge would be complete without a snowy, muddy event?  We had 4-8 inches of snow Friday into Saturday and so I looked forward to hiking around in it a bit. Mary Ann, Cody and I stayed safe and walked on Forest Road 506; the idea of slipping or getting lost on one of the trails didn’t appeal to me. We enjoyed the evergreens covered with snow and walking on the snow covered road. It was great to see the water in the creeks, snow falling off the trees, and blue skies above. The cold air felt good in my lungs. It all reminded me of winter in New England where I did some cross-country skiing and hiking (but mostly hot toddies in front of fireplaces…..).

 

The temperature said it was 37 – but it felt warmer than that.

 

Cody needed to be sprayed down afterwards, she was covered in mud. I felt bad spraying her with cold water, but it had to be done. She sleeps and dreams at my feet as I write this.

 

I suddenly feel more ready for Christmas.

North of Silver City, NM - December 2011

 

4.06 miles – 2 hours

 

21 down / 79 to go

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on December 4, 2011, in Gila National Forest, Hiking, New Mexico, Outdoor Activities, Southwest. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

