Thursday, December 8, 2011 – Bear Creek Road

Bear Creek Road - Pinos Altos, New Mexico

 

 

The holidays are starting to affect my companion’s schedules; several people are out of town or on their way out. And so I hike alone. I noticed today that I am getting more comfortable hiking alone; when I first started, I was bored and a little anxious. Now, I am kinda enjoying the quiet. I stop and listen for a few moments. Walking in the snow brings me peace that I had forgotten about. I thought back to snow-filled memories, in Colorado and Vermont and New York State. I used to cross-country ski and hike and build forts and create angels. It was fun. Back to reality, I enjoyed today very much – until my ears got cold and my feet got wet. The workout is different too! My thighs ache right now.

 

I walked on Bear Creek Road where it enters the forest. Then I noticed someone’s foot prints off into the woods and I decided that I would check it out too. I enjoyed traipsing through the snow and among the trees. The other hiker had their dog (a good size one from the prints in the snow) and I regretted leaving Cody home. When I made it back to the road, I continued down and came to a fence and then either a damn or a large built-up (yet unused) road. I couldn’t tell because if it was a damn, there was no water and if it was a road, it was abandoned at some point – the fence stopped vehicle traffic. Walked further and then took another path off the road and into the woods. The calm was lovely.

 

A snowy hike north of Silver City

 

 

I tried to identify many tracks in the snow, mostly deer and some small guys – maybe fox or coyote. I was amused at their paths – not exactly direct!

2.06 miles – 2 hours

 

22 down / 78 to go

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on December 10, 2011, in Gila National Forest, Hiking, New Mexico, Outdoor Activities, Southwest. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

