Sunday, December 11, 2011 – Eighty Mountain – Silver City, NM

Good altitude today! We went from the parking lot at 6454 to the top of Eighty Mountain which is 7340. An 886 foot climb. And my knees and thighs can vouch for the challenge. This hike is part of the Gomez Peak trail system. It climbs up the north side of Eighty Mountain in a nice climb, until you hit the ascent to the top. For this out-of-shape hiker it was a challenge up the final part of the mountain – but one that was worth the effort. The views are magnificent! I remember the first time I climbed Gomez Peak and thought “these are the best views ever!” And then I climbed McComas and now Eighty. Those views are amazing! I saw angles of Gomez I never saw before, long-range views of the Mogollons to the west, monastery views and of course, a loooong range view of The Kneeling Nun.

 

The Gila National Forest

 

A snowy, northside ascent

 

Gomez Peak glistening with snow

 

 

 

These last few hikes in the snow have been great work-outs but also great for my mind. I find hiking in snow to be pleasantly calming and invigorating at the same time. I didn’t know that would happen. I really enjoy it. OMG – am I now hoping for more snow????

 

I am searching the internet and local contacts for how Eighty Mountain got its’ name. I’ll post it if I ever figure it out!

2.93 miles / 3.25 hours

 

23 down / 77 to go

 

 

The Mogollons are beautiful!

 

 

Descending.... that's Eighty Mountain in the background. Hey! I climbed that!

 

 

 

 

 

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on December 11, 2011, in Gila National Forest, Hiking, New Mexico, Outdoor Activities, Southwest. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. From Cherie Salmon of High Lonesome Books: According to “Place Names of New Mexico” by Robert Julyan: “EIGHTY MOUNTAIN (Grant; 4 mi N of Silver City), Name is derived from the Eighty Ranch, just S of the mountain.” Unfortunately, it doesn’t have a listing for the Eighty Ranch…

Leave a Reply

