Sunday, December 18, 2011 – Bear Mountain Road – Continental Divide Trail

On this foggy, damp day, Mary Ann and I took Cisco up the CD Trail starting at Bear Mountain Road. Almost immediately, we ran into a longhorn steer but couldn’t get a good photograph of him through the trees. We climbed through a muddy path with loose rocks – glad I’m in the habit of using a walking stick. About an hour or so up, we hit a beautiful meadow that Mary Ann had pointed out from Eighty Mountain last week. I was humming, “the hills are alive with the sound of music” while we enjoyed the alpine-like scenery.  The up and down mountain climbing gave us a good work-out.

 

A silly moment on top of a beautiful hill.

 

 

We crossed a road named 4083D and it intersected with a road named 858. We hope at one point during the next 75 to walk the CD Trail from Bear Mountain Road to Little Walnut Road. That will be a cool day!

 

The hills are alive with the sound of music.......

 

I’m very excited that I have completed 25% of my challenge. Only 75 more hikes to go. So far, this has been a very enjoyable, pleasant experience. I have a long list of hikes that I want to do again (and again and again!) and this is one of them!

 

 

I couldn't get this longhorn steer to look at me - too busy munching!

 

 

3.65 miles / 3 hours

 

25 down / 75 to go

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on December 19, 2011, in Gila National Forest, Hiking, New Mexico, Outdoor Activities, Southwest. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I hiked Tent Rocks in New Mexico this summer and went to Mesa Nat’l Park…along with quite a few other trips. It was beautiful!

Leave a Reply

