Thursday, December 22, 2011 – Bear Creek Road to Cherry Creek – The Gila National Forest

Little Cherry Creek - Gila National Forest

 

My Godson Pat came in from Los Angeles for Christmas and since he was game to be part of my challenge, we drove up to Bear Creek Road and walked it until it turned into a path and then down a slope until we hit Cherry Creek. We walked along the creek just to make 2 dogs very happy. The crunching of the snow and the bubbling of the brook was lovely.

 

Pat told me about his “Tough Mudder” experience. The past few hikes have felt like a tough mudder to me! I may have to try one of those – they sound like too much fun!

 

A cold run in Cherry Creek

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

He was a real trooper; he only had on sneakers and light pants but he never complained about the cold, ankle deep snow. He even talked me into running up the last hill in the snow, just to get it over with! And so we did!

 

 

 

1.67 miles / 2 hours

 

26 down / 74 to go

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on December 26, 2011, in Gila National Forest, Hiking, New Mexico, Outdoor Activities, Southwest. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Burrr! Sounds like a nice spring or autumn hike to me. My sister has done several of the mudder races in Az. Crazy girl!

Leave a Reply

