Friday, December 30, 2011 – Back Roads of Fierro

Don’t ask me what trail we were on, ‘cause I don’t know. All I know is we parked past Fierro, in the same place as before and we walked the upper path. (see hike #18 – Saturday, November 26, 2011 – past Fierro – FR 4203E for more information)

I can’t find it on any of the maps, and it didn’t have a marker. We enjoyed slopping through the mud, playing in the snow, slipping on ice and crossing over some running brookettes. I was able to bring both Cody and Cisco since Aunt Margaret can help me corral them if need be. The dogs kept each other busy while Margaret and I talked the hike away. I’m getting used to the dogs sleeping at my feet as I write these blogs. Makes me happy to watch them dream.

At one point, we passed by a large hole with tailings next to it and some concrete structures; I assume this was part of the mining operations I saw last time. We also saw some prints in the snow of a turkey. A large, raptor-like print!

Please be a Turkey, and not the large Raptor I imagine!

Don’t let the photographs fool you into thinking it was cold – it was 60 degrees out there!

If I didn't know I was in New Mexico, I would have thought it was Colorado!

One last thought, I find these hikes to be helpful to my inner self. Perhaps it’s the fresh air; More likely, I find the company and conversation very enjoyable and relaxing.

2.19 miles / 2 hours

27 down / 73 to go

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on December 31, 2011, in Gila National Forest, Hiking, New Mexico, Outdoor Activities, Southwest. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

