Saturday, December 31, 2011 – C Bar Ranch Road to Petroglyphs

South of Silver City, New Mexico

What a way to end a rough year! At the beginning of the year, Frank was recovering from heart surgery, then my work slowed and I decided to take a break from it. My friend Mary Ann’s precious husband died suddenly. Neighbor Skip shortly moves to a new place and Steve is retiring! I started a cooking club which brings me so much joy and this hiking challenge has been above my expectations. It’s been a whirlwind and frankly, I’m ready to say good-bye to 2011 and look forward to 2012. May it bring peace and happiness to the ones I love.

 

Today’s hike was a wonderful way to end a year. A sunny day met us as we drove south of Silver City; Mary Ann wanted to show me the Petroglyphs and I was anxious to see what several people told me about. We drove on Highway 90 until we hit C Bar Ranch Road. We followed it 2 miles or so and parked on the side. We noted several side paths to explore in the future.

 

Petroglyphs near Silver City, NM

 

The terrain is rolling hills with little brush; many rock outcroppings provided interest along the way. The trail led us through a box canyon area that we had to backtrack up and around (after Cody enjoyed the water). We even checked out a small waterfall dropping from the rocky sides. As you can see from the photos, we were able to get cool shots of several rock formations. In some spots, we could see Cook’s Peak sneaking above the hills. Mary Ann guided us around the huge rock formation and found the Petroglyphs. What a treat! I took many photographs of the Petroglyphs and we explored the area finding man-made holes in the ground from Indians preparing their food. We talked about what it must have been like to be an Indian in their time and live here. They had access to several braided streams, rolling hills to farm on, rocks to hide behind, and views of anyone coming towards them. A fine place to set up camp.

 

Ancient Graffitti

 

Now I look forward to celebrating the New Year with my friends from Coldwell Banker Enchantment Realty. We always have fun and tonight should be no different.

May you each find peace and joy in 2012.

 

 

 

4.41 miles / 2.5 hours

 

28 down / 72 to go

 

 

 

The petroglyphs are on the other side of these boulders

 

 

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on December 31, 2011, in Gila National Forest, Hiking, New Mexico, Outdoor Activities, Southwest. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

