Saturday, January 07, 2012 – Sheep Corral Canyon Rd. – Gila National Forest

Gretchen, with her very cool Vancouver Olympics jacket.

Gretchen from Coldwell Banker Enchantment Realty is getting ready for a hike this spring with her kids so she wanted to get in shape. I wanted to check out a road I heard about that has lots of trails off of it – Sheep Corral Canyon Rd off of Highway 15 in the Gila National Forest. Off we went.

Our approximate hike

The first thing I noticed when I picked Gretchen up at her house was that the temperature was 52. It should be a great day. Then, as we went up into the mountains, the temperature fell to 37. Perhaps I should have brought another layer. When we reached Sheep Corral Canyon Rd (by the way, the forest service map does NOT show all the twists and turns of Hwy 15!) it was well iced over so we parked near the highway and walked up, slipping and sliding the whole way.  I teased Gretchen that if she fell, I would be sure to get a good photo of it. Well the joke was on me when I landed on my butt towards the end of the trek. No injuries to report – except to the ego!

The first part of the walk was up hill and beautiful. There are lots of evergreens and the snow that is on the ground made it pretty. It leveled off for a bit and then started down a hill. I saw several marked trails to explore at a later date. It’s a largely shaded trail which explains the snow and ice. At only one spot did I get a hint of a long range view. Unfortunately, we saw no animals or people.

All in all, an enjoyable hike with pleasant company.

Check out the odd angle of thie lowest branch!

2.09 miles / 2.5 hours

31 down / 69 to go

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on January 8, 2012, in Gila National Forest, Hiking, New Mexico, Outdoor Activities, Southwest and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

