Thursday, January 12, 2012 – FR 4085l and FR4203F – Georgetown Rd

Helen, Elsa, Cody and I drove out Highway 152 to Georgetown Rd. There are plenty of forest roads out there to explore. This is a nice, hilly area on a cloudy, chilly day. We were able to watch the Santa Rita mines in the distance a good part of the way. We saw interesting rock formations on the trail. We walked over smooth, flatter rock/boulders that had other rocks stuck in them. A geologist would be able to explain how these formations got here. Tonight I’m going to my first Rockhound meeting, so I may get a few clues then. I am going to bring some of the rocks I collected to see if anyone can tell me what I’ve got.

 

The Santa Rita Mine in the distance

 

 

The Santa Rita Mine, and looking at the Kneeling Nun head on.

 

 

I was very pleased that Helen noticed that I am getting in better shape, stopping less, less out of breathe. I, too, noticed that a few hikes back. And my leg muscles are tight and strong. I am ready to do a few longer hikes – 4-6 hours or more. In a few weeks I’ll put that plan into action.

 

4.32 miles / 2.25 hours

32 down / 68 to go

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on January 12, 2012, in Challenge, Gila National Forest, Hiking, New Mexico, Outdoor Activities, Southwest and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

