A Dog’s Triathlon

Tuesday, January 17, 2012 – Burro Mountains – FR 4246

 

Cody heads for the finish line after the deer segment of her triathlon

 

Yesterday it rained almost all day here so I was expecting a muddy, wet mess out there today. I decided to explore the Red Rock Rd. area since I enjoyed nearby Saddle Rock Canyon Rd. so much. I was generally familiar with the Oak Grove Subdivision from my Realtor days and I know a few people out this way. After traversing some pot-holed roads, I found a good spot with Forest access and off Cody and I went.

 

Can you make out the snow-topped Mogollons in the distance?

 

It wasn’t so muddy; the trail was hard, wet sand. I call this hike a Dog’s Triathlon since Cody did three impressive sprints while chasing first a rabbit, then birds and lastly deer. As these hikes go on, I see her backside getting smaller and smaller – I wish the same thing was happening to my backside!

 

The Tyrone Mine and Tailings in the distance

 

Wandering along a trail, I soon came to a dirt road that was well used. I could track a few ATV’s, another person’s footsteps, and lots and lots of cattle prints. I was very surprised that we didn’t run into any cattle – the prints seemed very recent to me, considering the rain yesterday. At length I saw a marker – FR 4246. I enjoyed many long range views toward the Tyrone Mines and north towards the Mogollons. It was a hilly area with a gradual upward slope; I calculated I went up about 300 feet in altitude. After walking about 45 minutes, I noticed the terrain changing somewhat. Pine trees were intermingled with the scrub oak and more rock outcroppings sprung up. A few roads and trails branched off the road I was on; I look forward to exploring more.

 

Striking!

 

Back at the car, I decided to check out further down the road. Since I saw ATV tracks, I wondered how they got onto my road. The entrances I had seen were walk-thru options only. Down the road, it curved and started down a hill. A sign for FR 819 (on the FS map) and several other trail heads. And now I have some options for future hikes!

 

Note: Today I hit the 100 mile mark!

 

Another view of the Mogollons

 

4.7 miles / 2.25 hours

34 down / 66 to go

 

 

The Burro Mountains

 

 

 

 

 

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on January 17, 2012, in Challenge, Gila National Forest, Hiking, New Mexico, Outdoor Activities, Southwest and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hot diggity dog. 100 mile mark AND officially over a third of the way there!

Leave a Reply

