A Leap Day Hike

Wednesday, February 29, 2012 – Jack’s Peak Parking Lot to C Bar Ranch Rd.

 

Sweeping views at the beginning of the hike

 

Today, Steve, Dave and I did my first ‘shuttle’ hike. That’s when you park one car at the beginning and another at the end. The other types of hikes include, ‘out and back’, where you go out and come back the same way, and ‘loop’, where you walk in a circle, looping from start to finish.

 

Interesting rock formations make for fun hikes!

 

This was also my longest hike to date coming in close to 8 miles. I am writing this the day after the hike, since I was too tired yesterday…. and frankly feel a bit worn out today. I was pleased to see that I was able to keep up with the pace and did not slow the group down, like I usually do.  If you’ll look at my last blog, you’ll notice that there is a 14 day lag between hikes. This is due to the fact that I got the flu the day after my last hike and have been out of it for about 9-10 days. That’s why I was especially pleased to see that I was able to keep up.

 

Steve and Dave near the miniature canyons.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This hike is on the CD trail and is well marked and worn. We head out from the Jack’s Peak parking lot, off of Highway 90, and head south. The entire trail is hilly and has the feel of typical high desert: low brush, bear grass, sandy patches, jutting boulders, and such.  At one point we come across a sandy area where water, wind and time have carved miniature canyons. I am always amazed that most of my hikes have been through a wide variety of terrains – long vistas, open fields, hills, tall trees, rock outcroppings, arroyos and on and on. It certainly makes for interesting hikes and photographs.

 

Steve and Dave gold prospecting. I told them that they need longer beards and less teeth to find anything!

 

 

At one point, Steve and Dave decide to try their hand at a new hobby, gold prospecting. I rest up top eating chocolate kisses while they climb down a large group of boulders that are covered in lichen. I start designing my new gold ring while they do their prospecting thing. When back up top, they refuse to admit they found anything and we move on.

 

 

Looking back at where we just had been.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7.92 miles / 4.5 hours

41 down / 59 to go

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on March 1, 2012, in Challenge, Gila National Forest, Hiking, New Mexico, Outdoor Activities, Southwest and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. cool. I had wondered about the lack of posts. Glad you’re feeling better and back on the trail!

  2. Facial hair and dental issues aside, I am pleased to inform you that among the tadpoles, moss and muck, we did actually come up 67 cents worth of gold. We may be unavailable for hikes for the next couple weeks; we’re going to Vegas, baby!

Leave a Reply

