A ‘New Mexico Blue’ Sky

03-04-12 – Steven’s Ranch Rd – Fort Bayard Game Preserve

 

Can you see the interesting rock formation in the background?

 

What a beautiful day for a hike! The sky is that New Mexico Blue that just gets me all smiling inside. It was warm and sunny; layers were peeled off early. As spring approaches, I think it’s time to shift the layers to lighter materials – which is good since I’m sick to death of seeing that old black turtleneck and the ancient red jacket in my photos!

 

I'm guessing this tree was hit by lightening. See what I mean about the "New Mexico Blue' sky???

 

Marianne, April and Dora joined Cody and I at the Fort Bayard Game Preserve where we drove up Ft. Bayard Rd and parked in the lot up there. We headed north onto Stevens Ranch Rd and enjoyed a meandering hike through meadows, rock outcroppings, and a variety of trees. Time wasn’t with us to go all the way up to Woodhaul Wagon Rd, which was our destination, so we have an option for another day when we all have more time.

The Burro Mountains in the distance - that's where I hiked last Wednesday.

 

 

As I get closer to the halfway mark, I’m getting excited. I see this challenge as doable suddenly. My anticipation of what’s to come is fueled by memories of the wonderful things I’ve seen already. As much as I love being outdoors and in nature, I’m also enjoying the human aspect of this. The people I’m getting to know during the hikes, and the human history I’m learning about and seeing. Plane crashes, Indian ruins, grave markers. It’s all making for a dynamite experience!

Is this Mr. Stevens' well?

 

 

3.82 miles / 2.0 hours

42 down / 58 to go

 

A gnarly old Cottonwood

 

 

A beautiful view to the south.

 

 

 

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on March 4, 2012, in Challenge, Gila National Forest, Hiking, New Mexico, Outdoor Activities, Southwest and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Silver City Anne

    Great Blog! Love the descriptions and the pictures. Congratulations on your progress.

Leave a Reply

