03-24-12 – A hike in the Separ Rd. area

Cisco nicely asked me to stop taking pictures and keep moving!

 

Yesterday I drove south on highway 90 to Separ Rd. The numerous bicyclists I encountered reminded me that the Tour of the Gila Bike Race is a few weeks away.  As I’m driving, I realize that I look at the scenery around here differently since I began this challenge. Every dirt road is a possible hike, every mountain I see I wonder, “how do I access that one”? I also count off, “done that one, and that one, and over that way, and that road.” It’s kinda fun and the list is getting longer. I’m excited to be nearing the halfway mark. Just two more and I’ll be there – and I’m on track too. I needed 50 done by April 1st and as long as I complete two this week, I’ve got it.

Lovin' the long-range views!

 

Several people have told me how pretty Separ Rd. is, and they don’t lie. It’s got that gently rolling hill look about it that I, for some reason, love. It’s dry right now and everything is brown. But I still love the feel of it. No one mentioned the copious “No Hunting or Trespassing” signs and I hate to intrude, so I walk on the dirt road. The signs eventually fade away and to the left I notice a hill with some rock outcroppings on it – it’s just 100-200 yards away and I wonder if Indians used it as protection. Cisco and I check it out and on the way find a large quartz rock. I waypoint it and continue on. The lookout is interesting and, after investigating it, we go back to our quartz and carry it to the road. I’ll pick it up with the car later.  Along the way, I snap some photos and run into a corral and windmill. As we turn back towards the car, I notice a cow trail that appears to wander in the same general direction and set out to explore.

Yep, this is ranching country.

 

It’s hot today and Cisco waits for me in the shade, panting hard. We both enjoy some water and I decide here is where I’ll take a self-portrait. Other bloggers have done this and I always get a kick out if it.

Here's my self-portrait - my best side!

 

The earth in the shade is quite cool and I realize how very smart my dog is. When all the Hershey Kisses are gone, we continue back to the car, but not before startling a few cows. A pleasant, quiet hike on a beautiful spring day. I head back, looking forward to the home-made pizza I have planned.

 

Peek-A-Boo!

4.14 miles / 2.00 hours

48 down / 52 to go

 

This cow trail brought me back near my car.

 

 

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on March 25, 2012, in Challenge, Gila National Forest, Hiking, New Mexico, Outdoor Activities, Southwest and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You wrote: “As I’m driving, I realize that I look at the scenery around here differently since I began this challenge. Every dirt road is a possible hike, every mountain I see I wonder, “how do I access that one”? I also count off, “done that one, and that one, and over that way, and that road”

    EXACTLY!!! Seeing the scenery differently, looking for opportunities, and making connections. I feel the same way.

Leave a Reply

