04-16-12 – CD Trail – Hike towards Jack’s Peak

Today, Steve, Lou and I hike on the Continental Divide Trail from the parking lot on Highway 90, heading north towards Jack’s Peak. It’s a steep climb with loose rock, but also with beautiful views to enjoy. We check out a variety of trees, rocks and scat as we climb.

In the past few weeks I’ve attempted twice to dig a hole in an arroyo trying to find water. Both attempts were failures, except that I learning that it’s a HARD way to find water. I want to find a better option. When describing my efforts, Lou describes the water collection method where you dig the hole, cover it with plastic, put rocks around the edge to hold the plastic and collect condensation. The method is also described in the book, “Desert Survival Skills” by David Alloway. That will be a future experiment for sure. Warm weather is coming and I’d like to try it before then.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

We hike along the trail and eventually my knees decide they’ve had enough. We’re close to the 2 ½ mile mark so I push on until we touch it and then I declare that “this spot is the half way mark”. We turn back and the easy part of the hike begins, downhill. Halfway down, Lou, being the Forest Service Billy Goat that he is, decides to bushwhack it back to the car. He’s pointing over the edge, stating that he thinks we should go down. I’m staying on trail and triple dog dare him to go over the edge. He’ll meet us back at the car, he calls over his shoulder and he disappears.

I imagine waiting for him at the car, but the nut job is sitting in the shade when Steve and I reach the car. Son of a bitch! I’m appropriately impressed but also now understand why his wife just has to shake her head sometimes.

 

4.91 miles / 4.0 hours

55 down / 45 to go

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on April 16, 2012, in Challenge, Desert, Gila National Forest, Hiking, Nature, New Mexico, Outdoor Activities, Outdoors, Southwest, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

