Gila National Forest – Signal Peak Hike

4-22-12 – Signal Peak hike

I’ve heard the name, listened to the stories, asked for directions and clarifications. And now, the hike up Signal Peak……or not.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mary Ann, April, Cisco and I load up the car and head for the Signal Peak Trailhead on Highway 15. It’s 2.5 miles uphill – or uppeak, if you will. We enjoy crossing over Cherry Creek and head upwards. Well, I don’t know if it was the effects of two previous physical days, or the heat, but I feel off. I actually have to sit down and rest very shortly after takeoff. The altitude? Perhaps. We continue on with many stops for breath catching. I have been discouraged lately by my need to stop and catch my breath. I’m not tired; I’m just out of breath.  Several of the past hikes have been more challenging and more uphill. I hope I get conditioned.

Signal Peak is a common hike and we see several other people on our way. It’s only 14 miles from town, it’s beautiful and at the top are 360 views and the fire lookout tower. Here is more information about the Signal Peak Hike:

http://www.fs.usda.gov/recarea/gila/recreation/hiking/recarea/?recid=2017&actid=50

We continue up, up, up and enjoy long range views and ponderosa and interesting boulders. Mary Ann guides April (aka Young Blood) to a geocache. There is a tree stump 20 feet off of the trail. April climbs up and tells us there’s a rock on top of it. Below that is a smaller rock, and below that a taped up tube. We’ve found our first cache. April adds a small, pink barrette to the hidey hole and we continue on.

But at the 1 mile mark, I have to turn around. It’s gotten hot and I have rolled up my jeans and my t-shirt becomes a midriff. So down we go with Mary Ann telling me I can do it; we’ll try again. I’m envisioning a beautiful downhill trek where we park one car up top and another at the bottom and hike down the darn peak! But seriously, I’ll try it again.

Mental note: Try on last year’s hiking shorts.

Note #2: No more whining allowed. This will be my last post that has any complaining, whining, or crying in it.     I hope.

1.93 miles / 2.5 hours

57 down / 43 to go

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on April 23, 2012, in Challenge, Desert, Gila National Forest, Hiking, Nature, New Mexico, Outdoor Activities, Outdoors, Southwest and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. beechcreekproject

    Don’t be discouraged. I’m sure you’ll attempt the same trail on a later date and breeze up it. Sometimes we just aren’t hitting on all cylinders.

Leave a Reply

