Hike #63 – Tin Town and Beyond

June 3, 2012 – A hike with Vicki in the pines

Southwest New Mexico continues to be stressed with smoke from the Whitewater-Baldy Fire that is 30-50 miles to our west. On Saturday, there was a fire on Gomez Peak, just 4-5 miles north of Silver City. The local firemen along with Forest Service, air support, and hotshots had it put out in several hours. Any sane person gets nervous when they hear wildfire. It can get out of hand fast and the dry, hot conditions make it tense at best. Along with all this, I happen to be reading the book, “Fire Season” by Philip Connors. It’s a fascinating look at fire management and the positives/negatives that go with that administration.

On the way to meet Vicki, today’s excellent hiking partner, I passed Gomez Peak and paused to survey the damage. About 50 acres on the north and west side were burned. Once the rainy season starts in July, we should see new growth and green. On May 6th, I hiked it as part of my challenge, and now that I remember the hike and imagine the worst, I hope that the beauty that is Gomez is intact.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Vicki led me on a lovely hike through the pine forest off of Wagon Wheel Lane. She has her regular trails and was kind enough to show me this one. We saw several points of interest including a 1900’s cabin, Preacher’s Point, Bear Mountain, a variety of arroyos and “Tin Town”, a group of old tin buildings next to Arroyo Rico that was an old mining camp. At one point I put my hand against the building and just thought about what was going on here 100 years ago. I imagine toothless miners with panning equipment, and perhaps a mule.

There are many offshoot trails including the CD Trail that I look forward to exploring in the future – it should be spectacular come the rains in July!

 

3.97 miles / 3.0 hours

63 down / 37 to go

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on June 4, 2012, in CD Trail, Challenge, Continental Divide, Gila National Forest, Hiking, Nature, New Mexico, Outdoor Activities, Outdoors, Silver City, Southwest and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

