Hike #65 – Signal Peak Rd to CD Trail, Gila National Forest, New Mexico

Lately I’ve been hiking up Highway 15 into the Gila National Forest so today, Steve and I headed to Signal Peak Road also called Road 154. We drive up and up and up until I can’t remember if I’ve passed the trail. So we turn around and find Forest Road 4256B and decide to check it out (too many of my hikes start out this way!). It all works out because we hike this old road and hook onto the Continental Divide Trail which takes us along a mountain side where we enjoy many sights including long range views of Cooke’s Peak, Geronimo’s Stronghold, the Santa Rita Mine, a radio tower of some sort, a field of Iris’ and a lovely hike through pine trees. I also enjoyed the altitude which started over 8200 and climbed and dip along the way.

I’m noticing that as I wind down on this challenge (only 3 ½ months left!), I’m starting to toss around concepts for the next challenge. I’m thinking of “500 Miles in a Year” – being so inspired by a woman who is attempting 1000 miles in a year! Check her out at: http://overlyambitiousme.wordpress.com/ As you can read, she’s “overly ambitious” at 1000 miles – I’m a lazy slog at only 500.

My other idea is “100 Walks in a Year” which would expand my hiking to include walking on blacktop sometimes. I’m still trying to decide if 2 hours would be a limit, or instead perhaps 5 miles. We’ll see.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

5.0 miles /2.75 hours

65 down / 35 to go

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on June 8, 2012, in CD Trail, Challenge, Continental Divide, Gila National Forest, Hiking, Nature, New Mexico, Outdoor Activities, Outdoors, Silver City, Southwest and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Whatever you choose, it’s great that you’re planning the next one!

Leave a Reply

