Hike #74 – Signal Peak Rd to Trail 74, trail on left; Gila National Forest

July 3, 2012 – Yippity Skippity – monsoon season has begun!

After several weeks of extreme heat – 95-102 degrees, the rains have finally started in the southwest. They usually start around July 4th but this year the clouds started building a few days ago and the past 2 days we had a bit of rain. But today, well today we have cooler temperatures and rain-cloud-skies and it’s just lovely. It’s cool out – I’m writing this at 2:40 pm and the temperature is 73 with 38% humidity. I’m in such a good mood, I don’t know what to do with myself!

Sharon and I have never hiked together but we have camped together out at ‘the range’ with the Gila Rangers of Water Canyon fame. She claimed to be a little out of shape (although I saw no evidence of it the whole time) so I chose a hike with little climb. I remembered doing a hike with Julian and Lynn a few years back that was nicely shaded and meandered through the woods; not too much of a climb, so we headed off.

Sharon had not been up Signal Peak and really seemed to enjoy the terrain and views. This is a trail that seems to wind around Signal Peak and eventually joined the CD Trail. I ended up duplicating a part of the trail; this trail tied into the part of the CD trail I did with Pamela on June 13th. It was a dense forest in much of the walk and we enjoyed the shade. Many pine needles, downed trees, bushes and since it had rained a bit yesterday, we also enjoyed that pine forest smell for most of the hike.

I hope Sharon joins me on more hikes; we had a great time!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Note: I crossed over the 265 mile mark today!! Yippity Skippity times 2!!!

Note #2: My double use of Yippity Skippity makes me think I may have overdone it on the chocolate today…….

 

3.0 miles /2.5 hours

74 down /26 to go

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on July 3, 2012, in CD Trail, Challenge, Continental Divide, Gila National Forest, Hike, Hiking, Nature, New Mexico, Outdoor Activities, Outdoors, Silver City, Southwest and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. 265 miles!! That’s awesome!

  2. Yes — rain! I’m in disbelief that monsoons came on time this year 🙂

  3. You’re not in any way surprized that 3/4 of the way through the year you are 3/4 of the way through your goal are you ?? 🙂 Congratulations on all you’ve done so far!

Leave a Reply

