Hike #75 – Webb Gulch Area – Gila National Forest

I just logged in 200 hours – feels like 20! – I’m ¾ of the way to my goal!

I had some gardening chores to do at some friends’ house – they live up Wagon Wheel Lane on Webb Gulch so I decided that after my weeding I would hike up and around their house. It’s a hill-of-a-hike; towards the end I felt like I had been going uphill the whole way! But it was pretty enough and a good work-out.

I liked this hike very much; not only was it interesting, but it was mostly off trail. I know the area reasonably well, having hiked it before and been to several people’s homes in the area. I set off with my trusty GPS and made a crazy-shaped loop around my friend’s house.

I scared a bunch of turkey off and Cody almost caught a quail, but the bird flew off (I think Cody caught it but didn’t know what the hell to do with a hysterical ball of feathers, so she dropped it). I found my first deer antler, a small one, but still, with all my hiking this is the first one I’ve ever found. We also came across a neighbor’s deer stand, a water retention system, the skull of an unlucky deer and an old damn. Not bad for a 2 hour hike!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

1.94  miles /2.0 hours

75 down /25 to go

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on July 7, 2012, in Challenge, Gila National Forest, Hike, Hiking, Nature, New Mexico, Outdoor Activities, Outdoors, Silver City, Southwest and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

