Hike #85 – Sheep Corral Canyon – Trail #231; Gila National Forest

A.K.A. Hot and Sweaty!

Sheep Corral Canyon Rd is about 24 miles north of Highway 180 in Silver City.

I have to be honest; summer is my least favorite time of year for hiking. It’s hot, sweaty, and sticky {but that won’t stop me}. Mary Ann, Dora, Cody and I drove up to Sheep Corral Canyon and parked up a few miles – not to the end. We hiked on Trail 231 for several miles and enjoyed the shaded mountainsides as we ambled up the trail. This area feels more remote than other trails and we see no one except for two large cows. This was quite up and down and our calves felt it on the way home!

What is it about today that we saw MANY cars on Highway 15 on our way back? Going both north and south! Everybody was out for a drive! We saw cars parked at most of the stops – Signal Peak Rd, the Signal Peak/Tadpole Ridge pull off, the CD Trail pull off – EVERYbody was out today!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

5.71 miles /3.75 hours

85 down /15 to go

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on August 5, 2012, in Challenge, Gila National Forest, Hike, Hiking, Nature, New Mexico, Outdoor Activities, Outdoors, Silver City, Southwest and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. We did some hot and sweaty hiking today as well, but I have to get home before I can post about it.

    • Silver City Linda

      That seems to be the report from across the nation! My goddaughter in NJ said the same thing, as did a fellow blogger in RI. Good for us for getting out anyway!

  2. I have not hiked it! Haha, to be fair, I really haven’t hiked very many trails at all. However, I have followed the ATV trails in the Sheep Corral Canyon. It’s a favorite!

  3. Silver City Linda

    We’re just starting to explore that area – it’s so pretty! I love the tall trees!

Leave a Reply

