Hike #87 – Sheep Corral Canyon Rd – side trails – Gila National Forest

August 14, 2012 – FR 4247L and trails around it

Sharon, Cody and I drove up Highway 15 to Sheep Corral Canyon Rd and drove back about 4.2 miles. We hiked from there in a combination of road, trail and old wagon roads. Sharon really liked the landscape which was mostly hilly with many ponderosa pine trees. There was also some thorny bugger of a bush that I’m still carving out of my calf.  We came across a few ravines, many downed trees that are ready for firewood harvesting, one old gnarly tree that resembled a door for forest elves, and several beautiful long-range views. When we got back to the car, we decided to drive farther up the main road “just to see” what was up there. We came across a man on horseback with 2 dogs – sure looked like a cowboy doing his 9-5 to me!

There are many beautiful trails and road to explore up this road and I look forward to doing more in the near future!

As my challenge winds down – only 13 more to go – I am thinking about what’s next. I definitely enjoy a challenge and would like to do another one, although not the same one. I’m thinking about two options. 1) A “500 Mile Challenge” that could include: walking, hiking and bicycling. This would involve about 10 miles a week. I also would want to be allowed to duplicate locations. 2) The other challenge I’m thinking of is “100 Walks in a Year” which consists of hikes and walking on black top and cement. I could walk around town, walk to Tyrone from my house, etc. I think a 2 hour time minimum would be appropriate. Anybody have any suggestions or preferences?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

4.4 Miles / 3.0 Hours

87 down /13 to go

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on August 14, 2012, in Challenge, Continental Divide, Gila National Forest, Hike, Hiking, Nature, New Mexico, Outdoor Activities, Outdoors, Silver City, Southwest and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Was the thorny bush stinging nettle? We have that here, its an understory bush, and will tear up your calves if you let it. Its a pain in the you know where. I liked all of your suggestions for what’s next and think you can’t go wrong with any of them!!

    • It was a smallish bush – about 18-24 inches tall – with small, round leaves, almost delicate looking – until you found out that there are small, razor like thorns – I have 2 in my calf. I’m waiting for Frank to come home so he can use a tweezer to get them out.

  2. I’d suggest a 500 mile challenge just for the variety. Though I do have to say, that after spending a year doing 1000, I realize that house maintenance suffered over that year, and we now have a long list of things we’ve been meaning to fix (we may move in a little less than a year). Balance!

Leave a Reply

