Hike #95 – Gila National Forest – Burro Mountains

09-11-12 – Saddlerock Canyon Road

Today, I took Cody for a hike in the Saddlerock Canyon Road area. This is in the Burro Mountains, in a sandy area, with dramatic scenery. There are canyons, soft riverbeds, huge rock formations, and hills to take in as you move along. I parked the car on the side of the road and we walked the deserted and desert-like road for a mile or so, and then explored some side roads including 4242I, 118A and 118. I would love to bring a geologist out here to describe some of the rocks and formations; they’re fascinating! We also enjoyed fields of flowers: Mexican Sunflower, Globe Mallow, and something purple.

Has any blogger posting today, not mentioned the importance of this day to America? I doubt it. I will never forget that day and how Frank and I stood in Newark Airport; our flight halted, and watched the towers collapse. Absolutely horrific. I remember thinking, “how can there be such hate in the world?” To all those who survived this event, and all those who lost loved ones, please know that our thoughts are with you today.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

4.62 Miles / 2.25 Hours

95 down /5 to go

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on September 11, 2012, in Challenge, Gila National Forest, Hike, Hiking, Nature, New Mexico, Outdoor Activities, Outdoors, Silver City, Southwest and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m just finding your blog. I live in the Burro Mountains and decided to look online to see if i could find a place to hike tomorrow. Surprised that I found this! Thanks for posting all these. Maybe I could join you on one of the 5 hikes you have left?

Leave a Reply

