Desert Exposure article

Hi All, well it’s been over a month since I blogged. I thought those of you who followed my challenge might be interested in reading an article I wrote for our local monthly newspaper, Desert Exposure.

http://www.desertexposure.com/201211/201211_100_hikes.php

 

Enjoy!

About Gila Hiker

First I hiked 100 different trails in a year, now I write a monthly article in Desert Exposure about a local hike. Come on out to Silver City..... and bring your hiking gear!

Posted on November 9, 2012, in Challenge, Desert, Gila National Forest, Hike, Hiking, Nature, New Mexico, Outdoor Activities, Outdoors, Silver City, Southwest and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Linda~ I loved your article in Desert Exposure. Have you thought about publishing your 100 hikes as a book? I would love it as a resource about where to go hiking. Figuring out where to go is sometimes almost as much work as the hiking itself! ~Barbara Gabioud

    • Barbara, thanks; I’m glad you enjoyed the article. I have no plans for a book, but as I just mentioned to Debra, next year I am writing a monthly article in Desert Exposure – each month will be information on one trail. Part of the enjoyment for me was finding and exploring new trails – there are tons out there!

  2. omg, Linda, this is fabulous! The timing couldn’t be better,either–after a long, long (long) haitus from hiking due to a brain injury I sustained in an accident, I am ready to start exploring my passion again. I am new to the area and you have just totally opened the door for my dogs and I to explore all that is here. I can’t thank you enough!

    What a fabulous venture for you to have tackled! I’m so happy to have read your article and found your blog!

    You going to turn this into a book? What a great asset it would be to have this available to people like me who move here, or people who are visiting the area.

    My Best,
    Debra
    PS Since you mention Cody, I am assuming these trails are all dog friendly?

    • Thanks Debra, I appreciate it. It was such a fun thing to do. I have no plans for a book. But I am writing a monthly article in Desert Exposure – each month will be information on one trail. I have never seen a trail that isn’t dog friendly here in New Mexico. Back in NJ, there were many places where you couldn’t take a dog. Where are you from?

Leave a Reply

